Chase Elliott Wins Pole for Coke Zero Sugar 400

Photo Credit: Noel Lanier/

It will be an all-Hendrick Motorsports front row when the green flag flies at Daytona International Speedway on Saturday night as Chase Elliott and Alex Bowman were first and second in qualifying.

Elliott and his No. 9 Hooters team won the pole, marking his fourth Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series pole. Three of his four poles have come at Daytona.

“Our Hooters Chevy has been nice all weekend and we made a couple changes at the end of that last practice before the rain, so I hope that translates to a good driving car tomorrow night. Obviously a lot of speed in our Chevrolets,” Elliott said after qualifying.

Following Elliott will be Daytona 500 pole sitter Alex Bowman with Brad Keselowski, Jimmie Johnson and Kevin Harvick rounding out the top-five.

Defending race winner Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. will start sixth followed by Ryan Newman, Michael McDowell, Clint Bowyer and Daytona 500 race winner Austin Dillon.

With 41 cars entered in the race this weekend, one driver would be forced to miss tomorrow’s race. It’s only the first time in 2018 a driver would fail to qualify for a race. That unlucky driver and team was NASCAR Camping World Truck Series veteran Timothy Peters with Ricky Benton Racing.

Coke Zero Sugar 400 starting lineup

About Tyson Lautenschlager 529 Articles
A 20-year-old from Ontario, Canada, Tyson Lautenschlager is a third-year journalism student at Humber College in Toronto. He is currently the managing editor of OnPitRoad.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.