Photo Credit: IndyCar

Nico Jamin became the fifth straight driver from Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing to win the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship in 2015. In 2016, he’ll try to bring the team its first Pro Mazda crown.

The young Frenchman, who won the 2015 Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship in dominant fashion, will contest the 2016 Pro Mazda Championship presented by Cooper Tires with with the team that propelled him to 10 race wins last season.

“We’re extremely happy to have Nico compete on behalf of Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing for the 2016 season,” said team co-owner Dominic Cape. “Nico demonstrated to everyone how competitive he was in capturing 13 pole positions, winning 10 races and ultimately claiming the 2015 championship along with the coveted Mazda scholarship. Nico has impressed us already during the initial tests he has done with the team and we’re really looking forward to seeing him race in 2016.”

Jamin dominated the final half of the 2015 season, grabbing pole, fastest lap and victory in the final six races. After beginning his career in karts, Jamin progressed through several junior formula in Europe before coming to the United States in 2014. He finished ninth in the championship in his first season of USF2000.

“I am very happy and proud to stay in the Cape family for my 2016 season and have the opportunity to race in the Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires,” Jamin said. “This team is seriously amazing, we did a great job together in 2015 for our USF2000 campaign, and that teamwork allowed me to get the championship win and the big scholarship from Mazda Motorsports.”

The 20-year-old from Rouen, France, claimed a Mazda Road to Indy driver development scholarship with his USF2000 championship and will carry Mazda sponsorship and support during the season.

“I’m very honored to be a Mazda scholarship driver, and this is a lifetime opportunity for me. We’ll be 100-percent dedicated this year to bring the Soul Red Pro Mazda car in victory lane, as my only goal is to win this championship and race Indy Lights in 2017!”