NXS: Tracking the Changes – NASCAR XFINITY Series Edition Part 2

Throughout the off-season, there are always changes to watch out for with drivers and crew chiefs switching drivers and organizations. It seems this past season was no different, as there was news for fans to watch out for on a weekly basis. You can read the first part of the changes by clicking here.

Here is the second part of our look at how things shake out for the upcoming season, with the changes marked in red.

Car #: 33
Driver: Brandon Jones
Crew Chief: Mike Hilman Jr.
Team: Richard Childress Racing
After running a partial schedule last year, Brandon Jones gets set to run a full schedule in 2016 with Richard Childress Racing. Mike Hilman Jr. will crew chief, after working with Brian Scott at RCR last year full-time.

Car #: 39
Driver: Ryan Sieg
Crew Chief: Kevin Starland
Team: RSS Racing

Car #: 42
Driver: Kyle Larson? Brennan Poole? 
Crew Chief: Mike Shiplett
Team: HScott Motorsports with Chip Ganassi
This team has yet to announce any plans for the 2016 season, but both drivers are expected to run some events.

Car #: 43
Driver: ?
Crew Chief: ?
Team: Richard Petty Motorsports
After running the full schedule with Dakoda Armstrong behind the wheel, Richard Petty Motorsports announced that they would not return on a full-time basis, set to run a limited schedule. Jeb Burton is a current rumored driver for the ride.

Car #: 44
Driver: David Starr
Crew Chief: Frankie Kerr
Team: TriStar Motorsports
Frankie Kerr takes over the role of crew chief, which was previously held by Greg Connor. Connor has yet to announce any plans.

Photo Credit: David Yeazell

Car #: 51
Driver: Jeremy Clements
Crew Chief: Tony Clements
Team: Jeremy Clements Racing

Car #: 52
Driver: Joey Gase
Crew Chief: Tim Brown
Team: Jimmy Means Racing

Car #: 62
Driver: Brendan Gaughan
Crew Chief: Shane Wilson
Team: Richard Childress Racing

Car #: 66
Driver: Travis Kvapil, Travis Brandon and Tyler Lester
Crew Chief: ?
Team: Performance Energy Group
The team is expected to run the full schedule, with this line-up of drivers splitting the duties behind the wheel.

Car #: 70
Driver: Derrick Cope
Crew Chief: Daniel Kolanda
Team: Derrick Cope Racing

Car #: 74
Driver: Mike Harmon
Crew Chief: Gary Ritter
Team: Mike Harmon Racing

Car #: 78
Driver: B.J. McLeod
Crew Chief: David Ingram
Team: B.J. McLeod Motorsports
This is a brand new team in the series as McLeod and company make the move up to the XFINITY Series. They previously competed in the ARCA Racing Series.

Car #: 88
Driver: Dale Earnhardt Jr., Kevin Harvick, Kasey Kahne, Chase Elliott, Kenny Habul, Josh Berry, Cole Custer
Crew Chief: Dave Elenz
Team: JR Motorsports
This team will continue to be JR Motorsports’ All-Star Car, featuring a variety of drivers throughout the course of the season.

Car #: 97
Driver: Harrison Rhodes
Crew Chief: John Monsam
Team: Obaika Racing
Harrison Rhodes makes the move to the brand new organization that ran a couple races last year. Rhodes ran the full schedule last year for JD Motorsports with Gary Keller.

Car #: 99
Driver: ?
Crew Chief: Jason Houghtaling
Team: B.J. McLeod Motorsports
When B.J. McLeod Motorsports announced their plans, they stated that they’d have a second entry for the series, but no details surrounding the driver.

About Ashley McCubbin 3102 Articles
Joining OnPitRoad.com mid-2013 season, Ashley McCubbin is now the Managing Editor and contributes to each racing division as needed. Since studying journalism at the University of Guelph-Humber, Ashley has published articles on a couple of different websites, while serving as a public relations representative for different short track teams. Born in North York, Ontario, Ashley currently lives in Bradford, Ontario and spends her weekend at the local short tracks in the area. She has spent her entire life at the short track level, falling in love with the sport at the age of five. Beyond her love of short track racing, she also has grown an interest for both NASCAR and the IndyCar Racing Series. She also enjoys taking photos and working on websites, while playing a couple rounds of Candy Crush afterwards.