Dylan Westbrook Claims First Career Win At Brighton With SOS

Second Straight Tour Victory For Oakland (ON) Teenager


By Clayton Johns


BRIGHTON, Ont. (July 9, 2016) – Dylan Westbrook took the lead from Cory Turner in traffic on lap 20 and powered to a his second straight win with the Southern Ontario Sprints over the final six laps on Saturday night at Brighton Speedway.


Ryan Turner (No.91 Insta-Panels) and Cory Turner (No.97 KT Tobacco) started on the front row for the 25-lap main event following an eight-car redraw. Cory Turner took the point on the top side of the speedway to lead the opening lap as Ryan Turner fell to second.


Third starting Charlie Sandercock (No.57 Bellevue Fabricating) bicycled his car in turn one, but got it back on all fours before tipping over. It shook the field, however, as Westbrook (No.47 Bradshaw Fuels) drove to the third position while Sandercock got his car under control.


While Cory Turner build a commanding lead of a full straightaway over his brother, Westbrook challenged Ryan Turner for the second position. Westbrook took the runner-up spot on lap eight, shuffling Turner’s No.91 backwards.


At the halfway point, Cory Turner’s lead was reduced to 0.3 seconds over Westbrook as he began to negotiate lapped traffic. Mitch Brown (No.10 Haldex Brakes) rallied from the seventh starting spot to take the third position on lap 13.


Westbrook worked the top lane, while Cory Turner attempted to find traction on the bottom. Traffic played a factor and Westbrook took the lead on lap 20, but Cory Turner wouldn’t go away. The two raced side-by-side off turn two with three laps to go, but Westbrook’s momentum on the top propelled him to the victory.


The win was Westbrook’s second of his career in a 360 Sprint Car and also his second in a row with the SOS after winning on July 2 at South Buxton Raceway. Sandercock, who was making his first 360 Sprint Car start of the season, drove to a fourth-place finish, one spot ahead of Ryan Turner who finished fifth.





(Number Name – Hometown)
01 Kyle Fraser – White Lake, ON

10 Mitch Brown – Brantford, ON
11 Jamie Turner – Caistor Centre, ON
11J Chris Jones – Picton, ON
15 Mike Ferrell – London, ON
15aw April Wilson – Joyceville, ON
42w Rick Wilson – Joyceville, ON
47x Dylan Westbrook – Oakland, ON
57 Charlie Sandercock – Trenton, ON

66 Frank Baranowski – Mount Hope, ON
71s Shawn Sliter – Port Colborne, ON
91 Ryan Turner – Caistor Centre, ON

97 Cory Turner – Caistor Centre, ON

Heat 1 (8 Laps – Top 4 Redrew For Feature Start Position)
1. 1. 42w Rick Wilson
2. 97 Cory Turner
3. 47x Dylan Westbrook
4. 10 Mitch Brown
5. 11J Chris Jones
6. 01 Kyle Fraser
7. 15aw April Wilson
No Time

Heat 2 (8 Laps – Top 4 Redrew For Feature Start Position)
1. 91 Ryan Turner
2. 57 Charlie Sandercock
3. 11 Jamie Turner
4. 22 Shawn Sliter
5. 66 Frank Baranowski
6. 15 Mike Ferrell
No Time

FEATURE (25 Laps)
1. 47x Dylan Westbrook
2. 97 Cory Turner
3. 10 Mitch Brown
4. 57 Charlie Sandercock
5. 91 Ryan Turner
6. 11 Jamie Turner
7. 11J Chris Jones
8. 22 Shawn Sliter
9. 42w Rick Wilson
10. 01 Kyle Fraser
11. 15aw April Wilson
12. 66 Frank Baranowski
13. 15 Mike Ferrell
Time: 6:06.296
Margin of Victory: 1.091 seconds.

A-Feature Lap Leaders – Cory Turner (1-19), Dylan Westbrook (20-25)



Mitch Brown – 2 (Brighton May 21, Brighton June 18), Dylan Westbrook – 2 (South Buxton July 2, Brighton July 9), Ryan Susice – 1 (Humberstone June 5), Dave Dykstra – 1 (Ohsweken July 1)



Brighton Speedway – Saturday, August 6, 2016
About the Southern Ontario Sprints: Founded in 1996, the Southern Ontario Sprints series is a traveling winged 360 Sprint Car tour based in Ontario, Canada. 2016 marks the 21st year of operation for the Southern Ontario Sprints, brought to you this season by The National Sprint Car Hall of Fame & Museum, www.ImageFactor.ca, and www.OntarioOvalOnDirt.com.

Website: www.SouthernOntarioSprints.com

Twitter: @SOSsprints

Facebook: www.Facebook.com/SouthernOntarioSprints

YouTube: www.YouTube.com/user/SOSsprints

Photo Attachment: Dylan Westbrook drives his No.47x on the way to his first career win at Brighton Speedway. (Rod Henderson photo).