Daniel Suarez Wins Pole for U.S. Cellular 250

It was the Joe Gibbs Racing show yet again in qualifying, and point leader Daniel Suarez will start on pole for the second time this year. Suarez won the pole with a fast lap of 23.718 seconds.

Joe Gibbs Racing cars qualified 1-2-3 at Iowa Speedway for the U.S. Cellular 250 with Erik Jones in second and Matt Tifft’s stand-in Dakoda Armstrong starting third. Jones was more than a tenth of a second behind his teammate.

JR Motorsports’ Elliott Sadler qualified fourth followed by NASCAR Sprint Cup Series invader Brad Keselowski.

Josh Berry, Sam Hornish, Jr., Brendan Gaughan, Drew Herring and Darrell Wallace, Jr. qualified sixth through 10th.

Among the drivers who will start further down in the field are Richard Childress Racing teammates Ty Dillon and Brandon Jones. Dillon and Jones will start 15th and 19th respectively.

Chip Ganassi Racing drivers Brennan Poole and Justin Marks struggled in qualifying, and both failed to make it past the first round of qualifying. Poole and Marks will start from 25th and 26th.

With 41 cars attempting the race, one driver was sent home. T.J. Bell qualified 33rd in the second Obaika Racing machine, locking up the final spot in the field. Dexter Bean will be the lone driver to miss the race.


About Tyson Lautenschlager 552 Articles
A 22-year-old from Ontario, Canada, Tyson Lautenschlager is a Humber College journalism graduate. He is currently the managing editor of OnPitRoad and a chase producer at CTV News Channel in Toronto.