Matt Bentley Scores Super Stock Feature Victory at Sunset Speedway

Photo Credit: Ashley McCubbin

A familiar face was in victory lane at the end of the 30 lap feature for the St. Onge Recreational Super Stocks at Sunset Speedway, as Matt Bentley picked up the win.

The night didn’t start off pretty as Fedele DiBello made heavy contact with the backstretch wall during the first heat. Treyten Lapcevich picked up the win ahead of Jordan Howse, Mike Weeda, Dustyn Mombourquette, Johnny Morrison, Stefan Semeraro and Kendra Adams.

Miles Tyson won the second heat ahead of Jade Franklin, Nic Troback, Dennis Cybalski, Frank Davey, Nick Tooley, William Hughes and Coltin Everingham.

Matt Bentley won the final heat ahead of Herb Walters, Ryan Semple, Stan Coe, Dan Archibald, Justin Holmes, Anthony DiBello and Ric Watson.

The Dash for Cash didn’t go as Treyten Lapcevich as he’d be forced pit side out of the lead due to leaking fuel. The caution then flew on Lap 3 as a result of Mombourquette spinning Semple, collecting Cybalski in the process. Mat Bentley went for the daily double ahead of Howse, Tyson, Franklin, Troback, Coe, Walters, Mombourquette and Weeda.

Johnny Morrison won the b-main ahead of Archibald, Holmes, Semeraro, Davey, Tooley, Adams, DiBello, Everingham, Latimer, Hughes and Watson.

Come feature time, it’d be Treyten Lapcevich starting pole ahead of Justin Holmes, Stan Coe, Matt Bentley, Nick Tooley, Mike Weeda, Herb Walters, Dan Archibald, Jade Franklin, Dennis Cybalski, Ryan Semple, Dustyn Mombourquette, Nic Troback, Jordan Howse, Stefan Semeraro, Miles Tyson, Johnny Morrison, Frank Davey, Kendra Adams, Anthony DiBello, Coltin Everingham, John Latimer, William Hughes and Ric Watson.

Lapcevich put the No. 32 Springers Meats, Troy Cove Marine, Cathcart Trucking and Epic Racewear Super Stock out front on Lap 1, but didn’t lead for long. Instead, it’d be Stan Coe holding the top spot as he put the No. 58 Timber Mart of Stayner and Cabral Racing Promotions Super Stock out front on Lap 2 while Lapcevich battled Bentley for second. The caution then flew, though, as Adams went around in turn two following contact with Everingham.

Coe got a good restart to keep the lead as Lapcevich ran second in front of Bentley while Holmes and Archibald battled for fourth. Holmes got the spot on Lap 4 ahead of Archibald, Cybalski and Franklin as Weeda and Semple battled for eighth. Semple got the spot on Lap 6, bringing Howse through with him as Troback got alongside Weeda next. Behind them, Semeraro and Walters ran side-by-side for 12th, while Morrison and Tyson ran side-by-side.

It seemed there were battles all the way around the track as Semple got alongside Franklin for seventh at Lap 10, with Howse running ninth ahead of Troback and Weeda, with Semeraro and Walters continuing to battle. Semple took the seventh spot on Lap 13, with Howse getting alongside Franklin right after. Troback continued to run 10th ahead of Weeda and Semeraro.

With 17 laps on the board, Coe led ahead of Lapcevich, Bentley, Holmes, Archibald, Cybalski, Semple, Howse, Franklin, Troback, Weeda, Semeraro and Walters. Bentley began to make his move, getting alongside Lapcevich for second with nine laps to go. He was able to complete the pass two laps later, bumping Lapcevich back to third.

Behind him, Holmes ran fourth ahead of Archibald and Semple as Howse and Cybalski ran side-by-side for seventh. Howse took the spot with six laps to go ahead of Cybalski, Franklin, Troback and Weeda with Walters and Semeraro side-by-side for 12th. The caution then flew with three laps to go for Howse spinning Semple in turn two.

Matt Bentley got a good restart to take the lead, leading the rest of the way en route to scoring the victory ahead of Stan Coe, Treyten Lapcevich, Justin Holmes and Dennis Cybalski. Jade Franklin finished sixth, followed by Nic Troback, Mike Weeda, Herb Walters and Johnny Morrison.

Stefan Semeraro was 11th, followed by Miles Tyson, Anthony DiBello, Kendra Adams, Dan Archibald, Ryan Semple, Frank Davey, Jordan Howse, Coltin Everigham and Dustyn Mombourquette.

Nick Tooley finished 21st, followed by William Hughes, John Latimer and Ric Watson.

About Ashley McCubbin 3102 Articles
Joining mid-2013 season, Ashley McCubbin is now the Managing Editor and contributes to each racing division as needed. Since studying journalism at the University of Guelph-Humber, Ashley has published articles on a couple of different websites, while serving as a public relations representative for different short track teams. Born in North York, Ontario, Ashley currently lives in Bradford, Ontario and spends her weekend at the local short tracks in the area. She has spent her entire life at the short track level, falling in love with the sport at the age of five. Beyond her love of short track racing, she also has grown an interest for both NASCAR and the IndyCar Racing Series. She also enjoys taking photos and working on websites, while playing a couple rounds of Candy Crush afterwards.