Brad Collison Scores Controversial Feature Victory at Flamboro Speedway

Photo Credit: Ashley McCubbin

In a slew of events over the second half of the feature, fans found themselves debating who rightfully deserve the victory on Saturday night at Flamboro Speedway. In the end, it was the track’s decision to give the checkered flag to Brad Collison.

Chris Howse started pole ahead of Bobby Mercer, Andrew Robertson, Hudson Nagy, Brad Collison, Shawn Chenoweth, Kelsey Lamont, Adam Misener and A.J. Miller.

The feature started off messy with Lamont spinning Misener on the frontstretch.

The second attempt went cleaner with Chris Howse leading the first lap, before Brad Collison took over the lead on Lap 2. Chenoweth quickly made his way to the front, moving in the runner-up spot on Lap 6 ahead of Nagy, Howse, Robertson, Mercer, Lamont, Misener and Miller. Misener then made his move, passing Lamont on Lap 9 to move up to seventh. The first caution then flew on Lap 21 for Robertson going around in turn four.

The restart saw a battle for the lead between Collison and Chenoweth, however the yellow flag flew once again as Nagy had an engine let go through turns three and four, with Mercer spinning behind him.

The second restart saw the battle for the lead continue, with Collison spinning Chenoweth in turn three. As a result, it’d be Chris Howse inheriting the lead.

Howse got a good restart to keep the lead ahead of Robertson, but Chenoweth was on a mission and quickly making his way back to the front. He’d get alongside Robertson for second on Lap 16, grabbing the spot a lap later. Collison then moved into third on Lap 18, as Robertson battled Mercer for fourth.

Chenoweth was quickly able to track down Howse for the lead, with Howse doing everything he could to keep him behind him. On the last lap, their battle came to a head with contact made between the drivers, resulting in Howse being spun. With Chenoweth deemed an involved car, he was stripped of the victory despite crossing the finish line first.

As a result, it’d be Brad Collison picking up the checkered flag ahead of Andrew Robertson, Bobby Mercer, Adam Misener, Kelsey Lamont, A.J. Miller, Chris Howse, Hudson Nagy and Shawn Chenoweth.

About Ashley McCubbin 3102 Articles
Joining mid-2013 season, Ashley McCubbin is now the Managing Editor and contributes to each racing division as needed. Since studying journalism at the University of Guelph-Humber, Ashley has published articles on a couple of different websites, while serving as a public relations representative for different short track teams. Born in North York, Ontario, Ashley currently lives in Bradford, Ontario and spends her weekend at the local short tracks in the area. She has spent her entire life at the short track level, falling in love with the sport at the age of five. Beyond her love of short track racing, she also has grown an interest for both NASCAR and the IndyCar Racing Series. She also enjoys taking photos and working on websites, while playing a couple rounds of Candy Crush afterwards.