Nic St. Onge Dominates Sunset Speedway Mighty Mini Feature

Photo Credit: Ashley McCubbin

Taking the lead in the early stages of the Mighty Mini feature, Nic St. Onge dominated en route to scoring the feature victory on Saturday night.

The night didn’t start off well for everyone as Jeremy McLean pulled off with a problem on Lap 6 of the first heat. Johnny Paradzinski picked up the win ahead of Paul Geniole, who was filling in for Melissa Bullen. Daniel Montanari finished third, followed by Billy McLeod and Robert Toope. Chandler Bos finished sixth, followed by Eric Rainey, Scott Brooks, Peter Wakeling and Josh Inglis.

Dylan Holmes won the second heat ahead of Lisa DeLeeuw, Joe Dunlop, James Levi and Doug Wilman. Wendy Adams finished sixth, followed by Harold Noseworthy, Morgan Robson Jr. and Doug Smith.

The Dash for Cash didn’t go well for everyone as Paradzinski pulled off with a problem on Lap 3, while Geniole went for the quick spin off of turn four on Lap 6. St. Onge went for the daily double ahead of Montanari, Holmes, McLeod, Dunlop, Bos, Toope, Wilman, DeLeeuw, Levi and Geniole.

Come feature time, it’d be Wendy Adams starting pole ahead of Nic St. Onge, Billy McLeod, Lisa DeLeeuw, Johnny Paradzinski, Robert Toope, Morgan Robson Jr., Harold Noseworthy, Eric Rainey, Scott Brooks, Joe Dunlop, Dylan Holmes, Peter Wakeling, James Levi, Doug Wilman, Daniel Montanari, Chandler Bos, Josh Inglis and Doug Smith.

Off the drop of the green flag, St. Onge put the No. 00 St. Onge Recreational Mighty Mini out front as DeLeeuw and McLeod ran side-by-side for second. McLeod got the spot on Lap 6, with Dunlop getting alongside DeLeeuw for third. Dunlop completed the pass on Lap 7, bringing Rainey through with him to bump DeLeeuw back to fifth ahead of Toope.

With nine laps on the board, it’d be St. Onge continuing to lead ahead of McLeod, Dunlop, Rainey and DeLeeuw. Toope ran sixth ahead of Montanari and Wilman, till Montanari passed Toope at Lap 11.

Behind Wilman, it was Holmes in ninth ahead of Bos, Paradzinski and Wakeling as Geniole and Levi ran side-by-side for 13th. Levi originally got the spot at Lap 14, till Geniole was able to get by Levi, as well as Wakeling and Paradzinski to move back up the field. It was now Geniole in 11th ahead of Wakeling, Levi and Paradzinski. Paradzinski continued to fall through the field with an apparent motor issue, as Robson Jr. made his way by 14th at Lap 18.

At the front of the field, it was all Nick St. Onge as he scored the victory just under seven seconds ahead of Billy McLeod, Joe Dunlop, Eric Rainey and Lisa DeLeeuw. Daniel Montanari finished sixth, followed by Robert Toope, Dylan Holmes, Doug Wilman and Chandler Bos. Paul Geniole finished 11th, followed by James Levi, Peter Wakeling, Morgan Robson Jr., Wendy Adams, Johnny Paradzinski, Doug Smith, Scott Brooks, Josh Inglis and Harold Noseworthy.

About Ashley McCubbin 3102 Articles
Joining mid-2013 season, Ashley McCubbin is now the Managing Editor and contributes to each racing division as needed. Since studying journalism at the University of Guelph-Humber, Ashley has published articles on a couple of different websites, while serving as a public relations representative for different short track teams. Born in North York, Ontario, Ashley currently lives in Bradford, Ontario and spends her weekend at the local short tracks in the area. She has spent her entire life at the short track level, falling in love with the sport at the age of five. Beyond her love of short track racing, she also has grown an interest for both NASCAR and the IndyCar Racing Series. She also enjoys taking photos and working on websites, while playing a couple rounds of Candy Crush afterwards.