Dale Earnhardt Jr Wins NMPA Most Popular Driver Award

(Photo by Ethan Miller/Getty Images)

Dale Earnhardt Jr has won the NMPA Most Popular Driver Award for the 14th consecutive time making him the only winner of the award since 2003.

“I have always said the award really is something I accept on behalf of ‘JR Nation,'” Earnhardt Jr. said. “They put all their work in coming to the track, investing their money and time into supporting our series, our drivers and our sport. They put so much effort into helping us be able to accept this award tonight. They deserve it as much as anybody.”

This win places him second on the all-time list only to Bill Elliott, who has won the award 16 times. Richard Petty won the award nine times, with Bobby Allison taking the honors six times. These are the only four drivers to win at least six times. In its history, there have been 17 different winners of the NASCAR NMPA Most Popular Driver Award.


  1. I preferred the old sponsor better then the future sponsor Sprint Cup Series sounds a lot better then Monster Energy Serie
    Why couldn’t they stay with one sponsor.
    First the Winston Cup, then Nextel Cup, then Sprint Cup Now you want to change it again?
    Stick with one sponsor and leave it at that.

    • Hi Connie,

      Thanks for the comment. Hopefully Monster will be good for the sport. I think as many people have pointed out, it will be good to reach a young demographic, but I know what you mean. I think NASCAR would love to stick with just one sponsor for a long period of time, but it all comes down to the dollars and cents.

Comments are closed.