Olivier Bédard Sweeps Micra Cup Weekend at Calabogie

Photo Credit: Nissan Micra Cup

Untouched all weekend, Olivier Bédard padded his point lead in the Nissan Micra Cup after winning both races at Calabogie Motorsports Park outside of Ottawa.

While both Saturday and Sunday’s races took place on the same race track, both events were completely different from one another.

Saturday’s race was on Calabogie’s shorter configuration – a 2.8 kilometre (1.739 mile) short track road course while Sunday, the drivers took on another beast – the longer 5.5 kilometre (3.417 mile) configuration.

Bédard qualified on pole for Saturday’s race ahead of Kevin King, who won the series’ second race of the season at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park.

Despite having 40 minutes to try and get by Bédard, none of the competitors were able to contest the 21-year-old from Terrebonne, Quebec. Bédard held on to win the race with King finishing second followed by Valerie Limoges, who was relegated to the bottom step of the podium when third-place finisher Jake Exton was disqualified for his car being overweight in post-race inspection.

Race 1 results

  1. Olivier Bédard
  2. Kevin King
  3. Valérie Limoges
  4. Fadi Mourad
  5. Frédéric Bernier
  6. Austin Riley
  7. Mike Ogren
  8. Marc Héroux
  9. Peter Dyck
  10. Carl Wener
  11. Sylvain Ouellet
  12. Michael Habrich
  13. Mario Charette
  14. Alex P. Habrich
  15. Normand Boyer
  16. Jake Exton

Sunday’s race was much of the same for the pack trying to catch Bédard – it simply was just an impossible task.

Bédard started Sunday’s race on the pole position and held the lead for the entirety of the race, capturing his third win in four races.

The 2017 series champion was followed in second place by Normand Boyer, the series’ oldest driver at more than 60 years old. Valérie Limoges finished third, scoring a double podium result for the weekend.

Race 2 results

  1. Olivier Bédard
  2. Normand Boyer
  3. Valérie Limoges
  4. Kevin King
  5. Austin Riley
  6. Jake Exton
  7. Fadi Mourad
  8. Mike Ogren
  9. Frédéric Bernier
  10. Sylvain Ouellet
  11. Marc Héroux
  12. Carl Wener
  13. Mario Berthiaume
  14. Peter Dyck
  15. Alex P. Habrich
  16. Michael Habrich

The next time the Micra Cup will see the race track will be at the end of July when the series visits Circuit Mont-Tremblant for rounds five and six of the season.

About Tyson Lautenschlager 552 Articles
A 22-year-old from Ontario, Canada, Tyson Lautenschlager is a Humber College journalism graduate. He is currently the managing editor of OnPitRoad and a chase producer at CTV News Channel in Toronto.